National Foundation for Teaching Entrepreneurship

I had the great pleasure to share some of my entrepreneurial experiences with the girls at the Soledad Enrichment Action Charter School – Girls’ Academy.

I was really touched by one of the girls (photographed to the right of me) who slipped me this handwritten letter before I left

Kalika,

I just wanted to thank you for taking your time and coming in and talking to us. You are a very strong woman. And you are very successful. I look up to you. Now that I know you can do it. I have confidence and faith that I can do it too. I love music, art and coffee. I hope to one day open a coffee shop. I want to start my own business. Someday but I’m not sure. But I have a lot of confidence. Thank you! and thanks for the bag. I really appreciate it. Have a blessed day

Yeimi Carrillo

I can’t wait to go back and talk to more young people! It was one of the highlights of my year so far.

*NFTE’s (pronounced “nifty”) mission is to provide entrepreneurship education programs to young people from low income communities. The goal is to empower young people, many of whom struggle in school, to change their lives through entrepreneurship education.

Since 1987, NFTE has reached more than 280,000 young people, and currently has programs in 21 states and 12 countries. NFTE has more than 1,500 active Certified Entrepreneurship Teachers, and is continually improving its innovative entrepreneurship curriculum.

    Leave a Reply

